Lionel Messi has been crowned the Ballon D’or for the six time.

Fc Barcelona and Argentina star, Lionel Messi won his sic (6th) Ballon d’Or today. The Argentine player was competing for this accolade with twenty-nine other players. This calendar year has been good for Lionel as he has virtually won everything individual awards this year.

This is the first time the player is winning the award. He beat off competition from Christiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe Vigil Van Dyke among others. Vigil Van Dyke was one of the favorites to win the award after an impressive performance for Liverpool FC and the Netherlands this year.

The award was presented by former Chelsea striker Didier Drogba. Luka Modric who was last year’s winner handed over the golden ball to Lionel Messi.

Read also: List for Ballon D’or Nominees Out.

Lionel Andres Messi goes into the history books as the only player to win the Ballon d’Or for the sixth time.

The award comes just a day after the superstar led his team Fc Barcelona to win against title contender Athletico Madrid as the Estadio del Metropolitano. The match was set for a draw when the Argentine’s solo effort resulted in the 1 – 0 win on the 88th minute.

Messi is regarded as one of the best players of all time. His consistent form over the last decade has led to people’s say that he is the best player ever to walk the surface of the earth.

Do you believe Messi is the GOAT (Greatest Of All Time)? Leave your comment below.

%d bloggers like this: